Home » beliefs » Build Better Beliefs with Affirmations

Build Better Beliefs with Affirmations

Affirmations have been mocked and misunderstood by many through the years.  My own husband enjoys creating what he calls    “Slam-firmations” and teases me with them.  Interestingly enough, he has his own positive affirmation posted in his bathroom and on his computer monitor!  I challenge you to avoid overlooking the power of a positive affirmation to shift your thoughts and beliefs.  Here is how you can create powerful, belief-shifting affirmations:

1. Start your affirmation with the words “I am”.   “I AM” is a name for God, and you are claiming Divine power and intervention when you start your affirmation this way.  You can also start affirmations with words like “I know”, “I have”, “I love”.

2. Write your affirmation in the positive.  If you focus on a statement like “I am not angry with my abuser anymore”, your focus is on the negative (in this case the abuser).  Instead write a statement like “I have forgiven those who have harmed me and I am free from the wounds of the past.”

3. Write your affirmation in present tense.  Even if you are not yet experiencing your affirmation, write and visualize it as if it were happening in this moment.  This will shift your unconscious mind into making the statement true.

4. Use your own words and language that is comfortable for you.  You want to use words that feel right on the tongue when you say them out loud.

5. Write your affirmations with passion and feeling.  Your “I am” statements should be charged with warmth and make you feel energized, happy, and peaceful.  Your affirmations will carry more power if your mind and emotions are engaged.

6. Engage your senses as you write and repeat your affirmations.  Use rich, colorful language that creates pictures of the life you want.  Write your affirmations on special paper with appealing fonts or script.  Listen to music as you read and repeat your affirmations.  If you enjoy incense, potpourris, or other room scents, use them.

7. Focus on the “what”, not the “how”.  Let your mind examine what you want to be true, but do not let it question how it will happen.  Your mind will limit the endlessly perfect possibility of how your future will unfold.

8. Incorporate your current successes and positive traits.  As you focus on the life you want to create, recognize what you already love about yourself and your life.  For example, “I am building my life upon truth because I have faced my fears and am strong and resilient.

9. Write affirmations about your deepest desires.  Ask yourself:

• What thinking patterns or beliefs would I like to change?

• What circumstances would I like to improve or transform?

• What experiences would I like to have?

• What feelings would I like to enjoy?

• What do I want my life to be like?

 

You can write as many or as few affirmations as you like.  You might make a list of several and rotate through them over the course of a week or month.  Take time to read through each of your affirmations, letting the words and ideas sink in before moving on to the next.   Affirmations can help you rebuild and strengthen you resilience, building better beliefs that support your success.

2 thoughts on “Build Better Beliefs with Affirmations

Leave a Reply

