Home » beliefs » I was tagged!

I was tagged!

I usually use this blog to write about subjects related to building better business by building better beliefs. The articles I post also are usually fairly short. This post is more personal and longer – because I was tagged! I was prompted by another blogger to respond to a series of questions. I hope you enjoy getting to know me a little better!  And maybe it will prompt you to do the same… In fact, if you’re reading this – You’ve been tagged!!

Here it goes:

Baby Lisa and TerryWhere were you born?

I was born at McClellan Air Force Base in Sacramento, California. My father was a pilot and my mom (until my birth) was a security clearance clerk on the base. They met when my dad needed his security level updated.  He asked mom out and she said yes – after checking him out!  Mom was also a part time model, Dad was a very dashing flyer — I’m blessed with good genes!  Six weeks after I was born we moved to Bainbridge, Georgia, the first of many, many moves I would make in my lifetime.

Were you named after someone?

Thankfully not my first name! My father wanted to name me for his grandmother, and as much as I adore what I know about her, I wouldn’t want to go through life as Estelle!  My middle name is Isobel, after my Scottish grandmother. One thing I thought was interesting is that both my names, Lisa and Isobel, are derivatives of Elizabeth which means “consecrated to God.”  Guess I got a double dose message that I belong to Him!

If you have children, how many do you have?

I don’t have any biological children.  I helped raise Erin, who we call my little sister. I was her legal guardian when she was little.  I got married 2 years ago and now have four step-children: Duke’s son Dacen (23, who lives here in town) and his former wife Barb’s three kids: Brandon (who is 25 and lives with his wife Noelle in Denver), Michael (22, who lives in a small town near us), and Kimmi. Kimmi is currently 19 and lives with Duke & I.

Roscoe

How many pets do you have?

Roscoe is a nine year old Lhasa Apso (a quieter, slightly larger Tibetan version of a Shih Tzu).  I like to say we rescued each other after my last dog passed away. He has all of us very well trained, including making sure the couches and chairs all have blankets and pillows just the way he likes them.  Seriously!

What was your worst injury?

I was in a car accident in 1982 in which I broke my neck. I was very fortunate, as it was a fracture of my C-4 vertebrae. If the break had been any worse I could have been paralyzed or killed. I was in a brace for 18 months and had lots of physical therapy. I feel blessed that I haven’t had any problems with pain or arthritis in my neck.

amethyst necklace Do you have a special talent?

There are a couple things I can do that I believe are special talents. First, I’ve been singing on stages since I was 8 years old. I love   performing music – especially with a band or orchestra. I’ve been privileged to professionally sing opera, jazz, pop/rock, and Christian music.

My other talent is for figuring out how to make things. I love designing jewelry, clothing and fiber art canvases. I sold my jewelry online    for a while to supplement my income. Now I design for gala events I attend with my husband.

What’s your favorite thing to bake?

I LOVE chocolate and turtle brownies are a favorite. I also love cookies and really enjoy baking them during the holidays.

What’s your favorite fast food?

I stopped eating fast food a couple years ago for my health, but I still love a great bacon cheeseburger. A local restaurant where I live makes a terrific one with barbeque sauce – YUM!

Would you bungee jump?

Are you kidding me??  I had to work to get over a fear of falling that was so bad I had trouble getting on escalators and stairs. Watching movies where someone leans over a balcony or cliff makes my stomach lurch!

What’s the first thing you notice about people?

The first thing I notice about people is their eyes. They say they are the window to the soul. I believe that. I can usually read people pretty well, and the eyes convey a lot of emotion people hide from their faces.

When was the last time you cried?

I feel silly, but I cried a little when I saw the latest Budweiser commercial where the man raises a Clydesdale, lets him go to work, and then gets to see him in a parade. When the full grown horse got loose after the parade and ran down the street to greet his friend… well, I’m getting misty-eyed even now remembering it! Watch it yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPG7PcI67dE

Any current worries?

I’d like to say I don’t worry, but the truth is that I’ve been feeling stressed about my book launch. After working on Your Belief Quotient the last five years, its finally ready to be released to the public! http://www.amazon.com/Your-Belief-Quotient-Beliefs-Sabotage/dp/1452566356/ref=sr

Name 3 drinks you drink regularly.

I love chai tea – the spicier the better.  I also enjoy diet root beer. I’m learning to drink lots and lots of water every day… It’s not easy, but it’s helped with weight loss and other health issues.

BQ final coverWhat is your favorite book?

Asking me to choose a favorite book is like asking a mother to choose her favorite child. I love so many for different reasons. I love reading the Bible because it inspires, challenges and directs me.  I read several novels and non-fiction books every month, but go back to several over and over again:

The Prosperity Bible which includes Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill and other titles similar to that amazing book.

Goals! By Brian Tracy

The Firestarter Sessions by Danielle LaPorte

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

All the books in The High Church series by Susan Howatch

All the books in The Highlander series by Diana Galbadon

And of course… I really like a new book:  Your Belief Quotient: 7 Beliefs that Sabotage or Support Your Success!

Would you like to be a pirate?

Um, no.  I take two long, hot showers every day and feel bad when I speak sharply to people. Living in a boat with the unwashed and earning my living with a sword does not appeal.

What are your favorite smells?

I use a hair conditioner called Pure Abundance (by Aveda) that I love, love, love the scent.  It has jasmine, sandalwood and other organic ingredients. I also really like a meditation oil a friend gave me scented with Nag Champa. And I love the smell of my husband’s cologne!

Why do you blog?

I feel passionate about sharing a message of hope and practical information on how to live without self-limiting beliefs. My life changed radically when I began putting certain principles to work and I feel compelled to share what I have learned and been given with the world.

What song do you want played at your funeral?

Rather than a funeral, I’d like to have my family and friends have a Celebration of Life. I’d like the music to be upbeat and inspiring. The list keeps changing, but would include a number of Christian tunes like Matt Redmond’s 10,000 Reasons (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtwIT8JjddM), Gungor’s Beautiful (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyPBtExE4W0), Brooke Frasier’s C.S. Lewis Song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wo-e2BjICCY) and some secular songs like Katie Perry’s Firework (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGJuMBdaqIw).

What is your least favorite thing about yourself?

Physically, I really dislike my flabby upper-arms.  It’s going to take a lot of work to get them in shape once I get the rest of the weight off (at this writing I’ve lost 40 pounds over the last couple months!).

When it comes to my character I really dislike my tendency to look for the easy way out instead of jumping in and doing the hard thing that will help me achieve my goals. I’m shifting my beliefs about initiative and taking immediate action whenever opportunity shows up.

silk fusion in progressWhat is your favorite hobby?

I recently discovered silk fusion, where you bond silk fibers to create beautiful pictures or wearable art. I’m just finishing my first canvas and love all the layers and textures I’m creating.

What do you look for in a friend?

I need my friends to love me for who I am and encourage me to more of who I was designed to be. I look for someone who is understanding and patient with my inconsistencies and creative tangents. My closest friends share my deep faith and remind me of God’s love and grace.

Name something you’ve done that you never thought you’d do.

I never thought I’d get married again. My first marriage was tragic. I spent several years healing from that and becoming very content with being single. When I realized I wanted to get married again I resisted because I was afraid of losing myself and my freedom. Then I realized the right man would love who I am and what I am called to do. Duke was that man!

What are your favorite things to do?

Well, from my answers above you already know I love to read, create, and sing. My husband and I attend as many rock concerts as we can. I also enjoy cooking when I’m not limiting my calories.

Any pet peeves?

Intolerance and rudeness make me very angry.

lva 0909 laughingWhat was the last thing that made you laugh?

Duke makes me laugh every day. He can be so goofy and then turn around and be so quick-witted. I am married to a man who skips, makes up word games in the car, and can carry on an entire conversation in movie dialogue. He is hyperactive and so uninhibited! The last time he made me laugh out loud is pretty disgusting as it had to do with blowing his nose when he had a nasty cold.  I won’t go into more detail – it was disgusting. Funny, but disgusting!

Now it’s your turn!  Directions: 1) Tell everyone who tagged you (that would be me) 2) Answer the same questions I did 3) Tag more Bloggers 🙂

2 thoughts on “I was tagged!

Leave a Reply

